Cautions and Acknowledgments


I started spinning out Parallel worlds into Parallex Tales because, no one would write the story I wanted to read.  Of course I have realized that no one could write the story I wanted, no one could satisfy my infernally itchy curiosity bump. I was the one with the questions and bless the internet, I could find some answers.

Herewith is my own red pencil version of Godric’s story, why he has those tattoos, what made him so wild as a young vampire, and what ultimately saved his soul.

Parallex is as historically correct as I could make it without a lifetime of study. I am eternally grateful to my Board of Advisers: the eminent British literary scholar, penpractice; the renowned translator and classics scholar, aspis7; my pocket archeologist, Adhara Tamar; and my generous medical and psychological consultants (aka friends and family).

Then there are the fan fiction writers who have been my constant companions in sickness and in health in winter and in summer; you have been a heartening validation to the creative spirit in all of us. An especial bow in the direction of Bathshebarocks and RandomDarkness for their love of history.  Carol E. Stewart gets an enthusiastic wave and a loud whoo-hooo!

I owe an incredible debt to the late Octavia Butler; her genius allowed me to see small slivers of the world she imagined for vampires. The world is a poorer place for her loss.

This is intended for mature audiences. It contains graphic depictions of, or allusions to,  life from  about 100 BCE (while the Dacian Kingdom in the Balkans was coalescing) through the Era of the Roman Empire  and up until more modern times.  Life was cheap and in some instances horribly brutal.

I have put together a playlist of pertinent videos; everything from net making to birdsong, from armor to latrines. Enjoy.

Parallel Worlds

One comment on “Cautions and Acknowledgments

  1. This sounds fascinating! I can’t wait to read more. But I should already be on my way to the office…
    Keep it going.

Leave a Reply

